Welcome to the OFFICIAL website of the Laurel Highlands Railroad!
Located in the Heart of beautiful Southwestern Pennsylvania, the Highlander travels on the rails of the former B&O and PENNSYLVANIA Railroads.
The building of the railroads in our area was an important part of the growth of the coal and coke industry, which fueled the industrial development of the United States.
One of the first, the Pittsburgh and Connellsville RR (1873) would later extend it's line to Savage Jt. at the Maryland border. The B&O acquired control of the line in 1871 and ran the first through train from Pittsburgh to Cumberland. Today, this is the CSX mainline.
The Mt. Pleasant & Broadford Railroad (the B&O) was built in 1870 and completed in 1871. This line crosses the Pennsy line in Scottdale (Everson). Our Sunday schedule operates on part of this line.
The Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad arrived around 1890 into the city of Connellsville. At that time, the railroad was known as the Pittsburgh, McKeesport & Youghiogheny RR. The line is now removed.
The Western Maryland Railway, built from Cumberland, MD, started in 1908 and arrived in Connellsville in 1913 as part of the George Gould Coast to Coast Railway. With rail removed, the right of way has become a popular hike & bike trail.
The Pittsburgh & West Virginia RR Co.(1931) reached Connellsville to hook up with the Western Maryland Railroad. The line operates today as the Wheeling & Lake Erie.
The Southwest Pennsylvania RR (The Pennsylvania RR) built from Greensburg south to Fairchance. Youngwood was the main yard for this Pennsy line and had the very first HUMP yards in the US. Most area mines were worked out of Youngwood. Our Saturday schedule operates on parts of this line.